Primal Chicken Pot Pie

14 Sep

I was so tired all day today. Why you ask? Oh, because I stayed up until 2am ordering iPhone 5. My old Iphone 4 hardly works and I’ve been counting down the days. Literally. Just one week and I should have my shiny new iPhone in my hands!

I was feeling super lazy about cooking and I planned to make a big pot of soup. I didn’t make one last week and I definitely noticed. I actually had to prepare something every time I wanted to eat!! It was hell.  I was in the kitchen starting a pot of stock for some soup when I had a vision of a food magazine I keep seeing at the grocery store. It has a big, juicy gluten-filled  chicken pot pie on the cover.  Soooooo tonight, when I SHOULD have been doing school work, I whipped up this baby up. I’m not a huge fan of Paleo/Primal baked goods (mostly because I can’t stop eating them), but every few weeks I like to make a little something special.

It doesn’t have a lot of sauce like a regular pot pie, but the topping is amazing (thank you, multiplydelicious.com), so be careful not to eat the whole thing. I somehow managed not to, but it was an anomaly of natural order…..at least as it applies to me.  I guess I wanted to make it last since I won’t be grocery shopping for a while. Thanks, Apple.

~Chicken Pot Pie~

Prep time – 25 minutes plus , Cook time – 15 minutes

Ingredients

Filling

  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2/3 cup carrots, diced
  • 2 cups cooked chicken, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon ghee (any fat will do)
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground sage
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Sauce

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 cup 1/2 & 1/2 (or your type of milk)
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 tablespoon coconut flour

Topping from www.multiplydelicious.com

  • 2 1/2 cups almond flour, plus 1/2 cup for dusting
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, chopped

Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Mix up the topping and set it aside! Here’s a link to the recipe: Almond Rosemary Biscuits

3. In a medium pan heat the ghee and add onions, celery and carrots. Cook and stir lightly for about 5 minutes and add the peas.  Add the garlic powder, sage and salt and pepper to taste. Mix well, add the chicken and put the entire mixture into a bowl to cool

4. Using the same pan, melt the butter and add milk, chicken broth and coconut flour. Stir frequently until it comes to a simmer Let it simmer for a few minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste

5. Add the chicken and veggies to the mixture and mix well

6. Pour the entire mixture into a baking dish. I used a 9″ cast iron skillet, but a 8×8 or 9×9 baking dish will work great.

7. Now for the topping! I did this part with my hands by making patties out of the batter and then pressing them lightly until they covered the top of the mixture

8. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until hot and brown. Try not to over cook or the filling will dry up.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

